To learn more To learn more about COVID-19 in South Africa, visit

The Commission

Prof. Michael Sachs (Deputy Chair)
(26 May 2020–25 May 2025)

Prof. Michael Sachs is Adjunct Professor at the Southern Centre for Inequality Studies at the University of the Witwatersrand, where he leads the centre’s research projects on public economics and fiscal policy. He teaches public economics and policy analysis at the Wits Schools of Economics and Finance and the Wits School of Governance. Prior to joining Wits he worked for over twenty-five years in public policy and political strategy in South Africa. He is a former head of the budget office at National Treasury. Prior to this Michael also worked for more than a decade at the headquarters of the African National Congress, where he coordinated economic policy development and led the party’s research agenda. His research interests include public economics, macro and international economics and social policy.

Prof. Aubrey Mokadi
Commissioner (1 April 2018–31 March 2023)

Prof Mokadi studied at various Institutions of Higher Learning: Fort Hare University, University of the Witwatersrand, University of South Africa, Stanford University (U.S.A), University of Oxford (United Kingdom). He Lectured in the English Departments of various Universities and published widely in several accredited journals nationally & internationally in various fields and topics ranging from English Literature, Governance to Leadership. Prof Mokadi is a recipient of National and International awards of academic excellence. He is the author of several books endorsed through Forewords by eminent South African by, among others, Emeritus Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Nobel Peace Laureate; the late Nadine Gordimer, Nobel Laureate for Literature; the late Professor Es’kia Mphahlele, renowned author, academic, scholar and social critic.Prof Mokadi was a Former: President of Vaal Civic Association, currently known as SANCO, Chair and Trustee of Vaal Career College (A Skills-based Vocational Education Institution), Chair of Vaal Broad Forum (Comprising All Community & Political Structures), Chair of (VETF) Vaal Education & Training Forum and Recipient of various Community Recognition Awards. Prof Mokadi has been the Special Advisor to the Premier of the Free State Province. As part of the Advisory Services to the Premier, he has now been asked to establish the Free State Digital Skills Academy & Incubation Hub in order to support the President’s 4th Industrial Revolution Initiative. He is Director of The South Africa Institute of Leadership (SAIL), a skills based company offering SAQA Accredited Qualifications & Leadership Programmes; Director of Jubilee Management Services, Chairperson of Leadership Enterprise Development Organisation (LEDO), an NPO; Prof Mokadi is currently a member of the Board of Directors of the O R School of Leadership, an ANC NEC initiative to train and develop all its members from MP’s MPL’s, Councillors, right down to rank ‘n file, on critical aspects of leadership and cadreship.

Mr. Mandla Nkomfe
Commissioner (01 April 2018–31 March 2023)

Mr Mandla Nkomfe is currently working as special advisor to the Minister of Public Enterprises. He has acted in this capacity since 2014, firstly in the Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA), the Department of Finance and lately public enterprises. Mr Nkomfe has a Bachelor of Arts (BA) degree, Postgraduate Diploma in Public and Development and Master of Management in Public and Development, all obtained from the University of Witwatersrand. He also has obtained a diploma in International and Central Banking from the University of South Africa. He was a Member of the Executive Council (MEC) for Economic Affairs and Finance in 2008 and MEC for Finance up to 2014. Mr Nkomfe is a member of the board of trustees of the Ahmed Kathrada Foundation.

Prof Lourens Erasmus
Commissioner (01 April 2019–31 March 2024)

Prof Erasmus holds a Doctorate degree in cost and management accounting and is based in the Department of Financial Governance at the UNISA College of Accounting Sciences. His fields of academic interest are in public sector financial governance. He is a rated researcher by the National Research Foundation. He is an affiliate member of the Chartered Institute of Government Finance, Audit and Risk Officers, chairperson of the Education and Training committee of the Southern African Institute of Government Auditors and chairperson of the UNISA College of Accounting Sciences Research Ethics Review Committee. He is also Editor-in-chief of the Southern African Journal of Accountability and Auditing Research, an Associate Editor of the South African Journal of Accounting Research and a member of the Research on Audit Committees South Africa (RACSA) group, based at UNISA.

Ms Elzabe Rockman

Ms Elzabe Rockman is a part-time Commissioner at the Financial and Fiscal Commission. She obtained her BA Educationis (Languages) and Hons BA Languages (English) from the University of the Free State. She is also a Certified Fraud Examiner and a member of the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners (ACFE – International and South African Chapters). She was a Member of the Executive Council (MEC) for Finance in the Free State from 2013 to 2019. Prior to that she served as the Director General of the Free State Province (2011 - 2013), the Head: Monitoring and Evaluation (FS Premier’s Office, 2009 – 2011) and the Secretary to the Free State Legislature (1994 to 2009). She served as the regional election administrator of the ANC Southern Free State region and participated in a training programme focusing on parliamentary management and administration facilitated by the ANC in Zimbabwe, Canada and South Africa in preparation of the 1994 general elections. Ms Rockman is the Chairperson of The Elf Foundation, a non-profit organisation focusing on socio-economic interventions and poverty relief programmes in poor and disadvantaged communities in the Free State Province.

Prof Trevor Fowler
Commissioner (01 April 2019–31 March 2024)

Ms Nthabeleng Mochochoko
Commissioner (01 April 2019–31 March 2024)

"For an Equitable Sharing of National Revenue"