• Banner3
  • Banner1
  • Banner4
  • Banner6
  • Banner8
  • Banner9
  • Banner10
  • Banner11

Prof Daniel Plaatjies - Full Time Chairperson

Prof PlaatjiesProf. Daniel Plaatjies (Commissioner from1 September 2013–31 July 2017) (Appointed as Chairperson on 3 July 2017) Daniel Plaatjies is Chairperson of the Financial and Fiscal Commission since 1 July 2017 having previously served since mid-2013 as part-time Commissioner. He specialises in public policy, public finance and governance and is an author and has edited three books: Future Inheritance: Building State Capacity in Democratic South Africa (2011 Jacana Media); Protecting the Inheritance: Governance and Public Accountability in Democratic South Africa (2013 Jacana Media); and State of the Nation: State of the Nation 2016 : Who Is in Charge? (2016 HSRC). He is a founding director of the Rosmead Institute, as well as an experienced executive civil servant, special adviser, academic and researcher in public institutions such as National Treasury, Human Sciences Research Council and the University of Witwatersrand. Plaatjies is also the former Director and Head of the Graduate School for Public and Development Management (now called Graduate School of Governance). He was a leading technocrat in the establishment of the South African Social Security Agency. Plaatjies holds a PhD (Wits), MPhil (UWC), BSocSc Honours (UCT), Diploma VI Social Science (UWC) and numerous professional certificates from international academic institutions.

Dr Sibongile Muthwa - Part Time Deputy Chairperson

Dr Sibongile Muthwa bwDr Sibongile Muthwa (28 July 2014–27 July 2019) (Appointed as Deputy Chairperson on 3 July 2017)
Dr Sibongile Muthwa has international work experience in the non-government, development and public sectors, as well as in academia. She is currently the Deputy Vice Chancellor: Institutional Support at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University and sits on the boards of Seriti Institute, Women in Dialogue Trust, University Sports Company and Curro Holdings. In the past, Sibongile has served in various structures, including the Joint Universities Public Management Education Trust (Chairperson) and Applied Fiscal Review Centre. Previous positions include Director of the University of Fort Hare’s Institute of Government (1999–2004) and Director-General of the Eastern Cape Provincial Government (2001–2010). She holds a BA (SW) (Fort Hare), BA (SW) Hons (Wits), MSc (SPPDC) and PhD (London).

Mr Kenneth Fihla - Commissioner

FihlaMr Kenneth Fihla, Commissioner
(1 September 2013–31 August 2018)
Mr Kenneth Fihla is the Head of Client Coverage, Corporate and Investment Banking/CIB Franchise, Standard Bank Group. He is responsible for corporate client relationship management across 19 African countries and 20 countries on other continents, as well as for managing Standard Bank’s Corporate and Investment Bank (CIB) South Africa Client Franchise business. He is a respected leader with extensive investment banking experience. Kenneth joined Standard Bank as Head of Investor Services in September 2006, was appointed to the CIB’s Executive Committee in March 2007, and became Head of Transactional Products and Services South Africa in April 2008. He studied Mechanical Engineering at the Harare Polytechnic. He holds an MSc in Financial Economics from the University of London and an MBA from the University of Witwatersrand.

Mr Sipho Lubisi - Commissioner

Mr Sipho LubisiMr Sipho Lubisi, Commissioner
(28 July 2014–27 July 2019)
Mr Sipho Lubisi commenced work at TSB Sugar Holdings in 1981 where he served as a shop steward of the Food and Allied Workers Union (FAWU). From 1986 to 1993, he held a number of regional and national positions with FAWU and Cosatu, including that of Chairperson of the Cosatu Eastern Transvaal Region (1989–1993). He was a member of the African National Congress (ANC) Provincial Executive Committee (1992–2008), the ANC Provincial Deputy Chairperson (2002–2005) and a member of the South African Communist Party (SACP) Central Committee (2002–2007). He is currently a member of the SACP Executive Committee in Mpumalanga province. In 1998, Sipho joined the Mpumalanga Provincial Legislature and was elected as the Speaker of the Legislature (1998–2004). He has served as a Member of the Executive Council (MEC) for the departments of health and social development, and economic development and planning, and was Speaker of the Mpumalanga Legislature from 2009 to 2014.

Prof Gilingwe Mayende - Commissioner

Prof Gilingwe MayendeProf. Gilingwe Mayende, Commissioner
(28 July 2014–27 July 2019)
After completing his PhD in 1990, Prof. Gilingwe Mayende was selected to be Visiting Fellow and Senior Associate Member of St Antony’s College at Oxford University in the UK, where he conducted research on the land question in South Africa. Between 1995 and 2005, he served as a senior public servant in the
South African government, during which time he held the positions of Director-General of the Department of Land Affairs (2000–2005), Deputy Director-General of the Eastern Cape Provincial Government (1999–2000) and Regional Land Claims Commissioner for the Eastern Cape and Free State (1995–1998). Since leaving the public service in 2005, he has held a variety of posts and is currently attached to the Centre for the Advancement of Non-Racialism and Democracy at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, where he is a Senior Research Fellow. Gilingwe holds a BA in Sociology and History from the University of Botswana, an MA in Development Sociology (1987) and a PhD in Sociology (1990) from the University of Hull in the UK. He also holds a Diploma in Executive Leadership (Senior Executive Programme) from Wits and Harvard Universities.

Mr Mandla Nkomfe - Commissioner

Mr. Mandla Nkomfe, Commissioner
(1 April 2013–31 March 2023)

Prof Aubrey Mokadi - Commissioner

blankProf. Aubrey Mokadi, Commissioner
(1 April 2013–31 March 2023)


“For an Equitable Sharing of National Revenue"


0861 315 710