• Banner3
  • Banner1
  • Banner4
  • Banner6
  • Banner8
  • Banner9
  • Banner10
  • Banner11

Prof Daniel Plaatjies - Full Time Chairperson

Prof PlaatjiesProf. Daniel Plaatjies, Chairperson
 July 2017 - 30 June 2022)
Daniel Plaatjies is Chairperson of the Financial and Fiscal Commission since 1 July 2017 having previously served since mid-2013 as part-time Commissioner. He specialises in public policy, public finance and governance and is an author and has edited three books: Future Inheritance: Building State Capacity in Democratic South Africa (2011 Jacana Media); Protecting the Inheritance: Governance and Public Accountability in Democratic South Africa (2013 Jacana Media); and State of the Nation: State of the Nation 2016 : Who Is in Charge? (2016 HSRC). He is a founding director of the Rosmead Institute, as well as an experienced executive civil servant, special adviser, academic and researcher in public institutions such as National Treasury, Human Sciences Research Council and the University of Witwatersrand. Plaatjies is also the former Director and Head of the Graduate School for Public and Development Management (now called Graduate School of Governance). He was a leading technocrat in the establishment of the South African Social Security Agency. Plaatjies holds a PhD (Wits), MPhil (UWC), BSocSc Honours (UCT), Diploma VI Social Science (UWC) and numerous professional certificates from international academic institutions.

Dr Sibongile Muthwa - Part Time Deputy Chairperson

Dr Sibongile Muthwa bwDr Sibongile Muthwa, Deputy Chairperson
(01 July 2017 - 30 June 2022)
Dr Sibongile Muthwa has international work experience in the non-government, development and public sectors, as well as in academia. She is currently the Deputy Vice Chancellor: Institutional Support at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University and sits on the boards of Seriti Institute, Women in Dialogue Trust, University Sports Company and Curro Holdings. In the past, Sibongile has served in various structures, including the Joint Universities Public Management Education Trust (Chairperson) and Applied Fiscal Review Centre. Previous positions include Director of the University of Fort Hare’s Institute of Government (1999–2004) and Director-General of the Eastern Cape Provincial Government (2001–2010). She holds a BA (SW) (Fort Hare), BA (SW) Hons (Wits), MSc (SPPDC) and PhD (London).

Prof Aubrey Mokadi - Commissioner

blankProf. Aubrey Mokadi, Commissioner
(1 April 2018–31 March 2023)
Prof Mokadi studied at various Institutions of Higher Learning: Fort Hare University, University of the Witwatersrand, University of South Africa, Stanford University (U.S.A), University of Oxford (United Kingdom). He Lectured in the English Departments of various Universities and published widely in several accredited journals nationally & internationally in various fields and topics ranging from English Literature, Governance to Leadership. Prof Mokadi is a recipient of National and International awards of academic excellence. He is the author of several books endorsed through Forewords by eminent South African by, among others, Emeritus Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Nobel Peace Laureate; the late Nadine Gordimer, Nobel Laureate for Literature; the late Professor Es’kia Mphahlele, renowned author, academic, scholar and social critic.Prof Mokadi was a Former: President of Vaal Civic Association, currently known as SANCO, Chair and Trustee of Vaal Career College (A Skills-based Vocational Education Institution), Chair of Vaal Broad Forum (Comprising All Community & Political Structures), Chair of (VETF) Vaal Education & Training Forum and Recipient of various Community Recognition Awards. Prof Mokadi has been the Special Advisor to the Premier of the Free State Province. As part of the Advisory Services to the Premier, he has now been asked to establish the Free State Digital Skills Academy & Incubation Hub in order to support the President’s 4th Industrial Revolution Initiative. He is Director of The South Africa Institute of Leadership (SAIL), a skills based company offering SAQA Accredited Qualifications & Leadership Programmes; Director of Jubilee Management Services, Chairperson of Leadership Enterprise Development Organisation (LEDO), an NPO; Prof Mokadi is currently a member of the Board of Directors of the O R School of Leadership, an ANC NEC initiative to train and develop all its members from MP’s MPL’s, Councillors, right down to rank ‘n file, on critical aspects of leadership and cadreship.

Mr Mandla Nkomfe - Commissioner

Mr. Mandla Nkomfe, Commissioner
(01 April 2018–31 March 2023)
Mr Mandla Nkomfe is currently working as special advisor to the Minister of Public Enterprises. He has acted in this capacity since 2014, firstly in the Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA), the Department of Finance and lately public enterprises. Mr Nkomfe has a Bachelor of Arts (BA) degree, Postgraduate Diploma in Public and Development and Master of Management in Public and Development, all obtained from the University of Witwatersrand. He also has obtained a diploma in International and Central Banking from the University of South Africa. He was a Member of the Executive Council (MEC) for Economic Affairs and Finance in 2008 and MEC for Finance up to 2014. Mr Nkomfe is a member of the board of trustees of the Ahmed Kathrada Foundation.

Prof Lourens Jacobus Erasmus - Commissioner

Prof Lourens Jacobus Erasmus, Commissioner
(01 April 2019–31 March 2024)
Lourens Erasmus is currently a Professor in Financial Governance at Unisa where he is primarily involved with research and research supervision. Lourens is a rated researcher by the National Research Foundation (C2-rating) and has up to date published 35 articles in accredited national and international academic journals and conference proceedings, focusing on public sector financial governance and internal auditing. Lourens was also involved in producing four industry reports - three for the National Treasury and one for the Institute of Internal Auditors. A research book, focussing on an adapted teaching approach for inclusive accountancy diploma programmes, of which Lourens was the co-project leader, was published in 2019. Apart from supervising postgraduate students, publishing papers in accredited academic journals and presenting at international conferences, Lourens is the Editor-in-Chief of the DHET accredited academic journal “The Southern African Journal of Accountability and Auditing Research”. He is also an associate editor of the Southern African Journal of Accountancy Research, a DHET accredited journal listed on the Scopus index. Lourens is the national representative for the public sector finance stream on the EXCO of the Southern African Accounting Association and is the current chairperson of the Education and Training Committee of the Southern African Institute of Government Auditors. Lourens also chairs the College of Accounting Science’s Research Ethics Review Committee at UNISA. He is a general member of the Chartered Institute of Government Finance, Audit and Risk Officers (CIGFARO).

Prof Trevor Fowler - Commissioner

Prof Trevor Fowler, Commissioner
(01 April 2019–31 March 2024)

Ms Nthabeleng Mochochoko - Commissioner

Ms Nthabeleng Mochochoko, Commissioner
(01 April 2019–31 March 2024)


“For an Equitable Sharing of National Revenue"


0861 315 710